Navratri- The festival of celebration of woman power

Today is the first day of Navratri festival. As all the Hindu’s start this day from Puja & Hawan .I also sat with my family for worship as I have been doing every year just a robot. We just started Puja, when my 10 year old son asked me what is the significance of Navratri ?

My mind was not setup for this sudden question, yet I told according to the stories but the finally Navaratri is a celebration of woman power, a festival of women, for women and by women.

After the Puja over, then I asked this question to my wife. Surely she knew but the answer was bookish. It is associated to the prominent battle that took place between Durga and demon Mahishasura and celebrates the victory of Good over Evil. Then I asked why it is celebrated for nine days? Did the battle take place for nine days ? She laughed …

She sat next to me and said “you and your son are same” and explained, theoretically, the seasonal Navratri has four. However, in reality, it is a post-monsoon festival, usually celebrated in honour of the divine feminine goddess (Durga), known as Sharad Navaratri. The festival is celebrated in the bright half of Ashwin, the Hindu calendar month, which normally falls in September and October.

Then I said ok. Means Navratri is a demonstration of feminine power in all ways. What is better than the fact that during these nine days the girls are invited for lunch and honored in all the houses and are given a wide range of items ranging from nail polish to bracelets, earrings and fashionable necklaces.

Definitely, during all the nine days we propitiate Mother Goddess and reminding ourselves that there can be no universe without a woman. A woman is the creator, the sustainer and the destroyer and that she deserves to be worshipped. When we give gifts to fellow sisters, we are asserting that ‘a woman is a woman’s best friend.

I silently said, so, the man has no place in this scheme of things. 🙂 Stop it…..

Navratri the celebration of woman power

Basically, these nine days are devoted exclusively to Goddess Durga and her nine Navadurga Avatars. Each day is associated with the goddess’ incarnation-

Day 1 – Shailaputri

It is also known as Pratipada and associated with Shailaputri which is a daughter of Mountain.The Goddess is worshipped as Shiva’s consort in this form; she is represented as riding the bull, Nandi, with a trishula in her right hand and a lotus in her left. Mahakali is also known to be Shailaputri. The colour of the day is red, representing action and vigour.

Day 2 – Brahmacharini

Goddess Brahmacharini, another form of Parvati, is worshipped at Dwitiya. For liberation or moksha and the endowment of harmony and prosperity, she is praised. She symbolises happiness and calm, portrayed as bare foot walking and holding a japamala and kamandal in her hands. Blue is the day’s colour code. The blue colour reflects tranquilly and powerful energy.

Day 3 – Chandraghanta

Tritiya, the Chandraghanta worship-the name derived from the fact that Parvati adorned her forehead with the ardhachandra (lit. half-moon) after marrying Shiva. She is the embodiment of grace and symbolizes courage as well. Yellow is the third day’s colour, which is a cheerful colour that can pep up the mood of anyone.

Day 4 – Kushmanda

On Chaturthi, Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped. Kushmanda, believed to be the creative force of the world, is aligned with the earth’s vegetation endowment, and thus, the colour of the day is green. She is described as having 8 arms and is sitting on a Tiger.

Day 5 – Skandamata

The mother of Skanda (or Kartikeya) is Skandamata, the goddess worshipped by Panchami. Grey ‘s colour is indicative of a mother’s transforming power when her child is faced with risk. She is portrayed riding a ferocious lion, carrying her baby and having four arms.

Day 6 – Katyayani

She is an incarnation of Durga, born to the sage Katyayana, and displays bravery symbolised by the colour Orange. Known as the goddess of warriors, she is considered to be one of Devi’s most violent types. Kātyāyanī rides a lion in this avatar and has four paws. She is a Maha Lakshmi.

Day 7 – Kalaratri

Kalaratri, considered the most ferocious form of the goddess Durga, is worshipped by Saptami. Parvati is thought to have removed her fair skin to destroy the Sumbha and Nisumbha demons. White is the color of the day.

Day 8 – Mahagauri

Knowledge and harmony symbolise Mahagauri. Pink is the colour associated with this day that reflects optimism.

Day 9 – Sidhidatri

People pray at Siddhidhatri on the last day of the festival, also known as Navami. Sitting on a lotus, she is thought to own all sorts of Siddhis and bestows them. She’s got four hands here. SriLakshmi Devi is also known. The day’s light blue hue portrays an appreciation for the beauty of nature.



Mom Toddlers

You may also like...

1 Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *